Allo' Expat Anguilla - Connecting Expats in Anguilla
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Anguilla Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Anguilla
Anguilla General Information
History of Anguilla
Anguilla Culture
Anguilla Cuisine
Anguilla Geography
Anguilla Population
Anguilla Government
Anguilla Economy
Anguilla Communications
Anguilla Transportations
Anguilla Military
Anguilla Transnational Issues
Anguilla Healthcare
Anguilla People, Languages & Religions
Anguilla Expatriates Handbook
Anguilla and Foreign Government
Anguilla General Listings
Anguilla Useful Tips
Anguilla Education & Medical
Anguilla Travel & Tourism Info
Anguilla Lifestyle & Leisure
Anguilla Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Government in Anguilla


Anguilla is an internally self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Its politics take place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic dependency, whereby the chief minister is the head of government, and of a multi-party system.

The United Nations Committee on Decolonisation includes Anguilla on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories. The territory's constitution is Anguilla Constitutional Order 1 April 1982 (amended 1990). Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the House of Assembly.

The chief minister appointed by the governor from among the members of the House of Assembly. His cabinet, the Executive Council is appointed by the governor from among the elected members of the House of Assembly.

Anguilla elects on territorial level a legislature. The House of Assembly has 11 members, seven members elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies, two ex officio members and two nominated members. The suffrage is from 18 years.

The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. The courts of Anguilla are The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London (Anguilla's final appeal court); the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (including the Court of Appeal and the High Court, based in Anguilla); Anguilla's domestic courts (which enjoy appeals to the Court of Appeal), including the Magistrates' Court and the Juvenile Court.


Country name :
conventional long form: none
conventional short form: Anguilla

Dependency status :
overseas territory of the UK

Government type :

Capital :
name: The Valley
geographic coordinates: 18 13 N, 63 03 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy